Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Blog Tour - Finding Claire Fletcher: Interview with Lisa Regan

Today, I'm thrilled to be hosting a stop on Lisa Regan's book tour! Lisa's debut novel, Finding Claire Fletcher, was released by Sapphire Star Publishing on December 6th. And it's a winner. :)

Make sure to check out the giveaway info at the end of this post.

First, a little about the book...


Down on his luck, Detective Connor Parks takes solace in the arms of a woman he meets at a local bar, but in the morning, Claire Fletcher is gone, leaving behind clues to a decade-old mystery—her own abduction. Perplexed and driven by an unsettling need to see Claire again, Connor must solve the mystery of her disappearance and find her once and for all.



Now, here's Lisa!


What inspired you to write this book?

When Jacob Wetterling and Jaycee Lee Dugard went missing in 1989 and 1991, the news coverage really impacted me.  I was a child then and roughly the same age as both of them.  The Wetterling case especially stayed with me—really scared me as a kid.  So my whole life I wondered what happens to these kids who are abducted and never found?   

I started writing Finding Claire Fletcher in 2004 with that question in mind.  It was after I’d completed it that stories of abducted children being found really began to emerge, like Elizabeth Smart, Shawn Hornbeck and Jaycee Lee Dugard, but the book was my fictional exploration of the question of what happens to these kids.

Does Finding Claire Fletcher fall into a particular genre?

It’s crime fiction.  Suspense. 

What type of readers will most like your book?

I think readers who like a good, fast read and who like crime fiction will like it.  I think it will appeal to readers of authors like Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner, Harlan Coben.

Who is your favorite character and why?

Hands down, it’s Claire herself.  For me her voice was so forceful, so poignant.  I really felt like she was standing behind me, whispering the words into my ear while I was writing it.   

Interestingly enough, through all the revisions—and there were hundreds—and all the critique partners, my agent, and the editing process, the sections of the book written in Claire’s voice have remained basically intact.  If I go back to the very first handwritten drafts, they are almost identical to what you’ll read in the book today which I think is pretty amazing.  I connected to her in a way I’ve never connected to any character before or since.   

She is a tragic figure, irreparably broken in many ways but she manages to tap into a wellspring of strength and learns to hold onto it, to continue to live.  I think that’s what makes me love her.

Name two things within arm’s reach.

My Kindle and a bottle of water!

What advice would you give to new writers?

Do not give up.  Let every no, every rejection and every setback add fuel to your fire.  Keep writing, keep trying to get better.  Keep honing your craft.  Keep querying and keep putting yourself out there.  Keep going back to the drawing board if you have to.  If something is not working, try something else but do not give up.  If you keep writing, keep working with critique partners and beta readers, your writing will get better.  If you keep querying, keep submitting, someone somewhere will fall in love with your book. 

So much about this business has to do with subjectivity and timing.  So many things have to align at exactly the right time for you to make it from your first draft to publication.  It takes time and patience.  It’s like waiting for a comet that only passes by once an eon—nobody feels like waiting for it but when it’s finally there you’re glad you did.  You must be patient with the things that are out of your control.  Keep working at it and keep putting yourself out there.  Eventually, things will start to happen.

That's some great advice. 

Tell us a little about yourself and your life.

I’ve had a lot of jobs.  I was a martial arts instructor, a certified nurse assistant, bookstore manager, fast food worker, and paralegal.  I’ve enjoyed all of these things for many reasons and I’ve learned so much about people that it’s been invaluable to my writing.  I come from two very large Irish Catholic families but I married an Italian—it’s quite the culture clash.  Also, my writing friends can tell you that I don’t even know what a comma is!  That is probably one of my fatal writing flaws.  I hardly ever use commas.  It’s actually shocking.  Thank goodness for multiple edits or all my work would be stream of consciousness!

You're brave to admit that last part on my blog! (kidding :P) 
'Stream of consciousness.' I love it! :D

Thanks for letting us get to know you, Lisa. It's a pleasure having you on the blog. :)

###



Lisa Regan is a suspense novelist.  She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University.  She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter. 




You can buy the  book here:



And don't miss out on the...



As part of the FindingClaire Fletcher Blog Tour (12/6/12 through 12/21/12), Lisa Regan will be giving away the following items:

$25.00 Amazon Gift Card
1 signed copy of the paperback of Finding Claire Fletcher
1 e-book version of Finding Claire Fletcher

All you have to do is visit the Finding Claire Fletcher Blog Tour & Giveaway page on Lisa’s blog which you can find here and comment on that page letting Lisa know whose blog you’ve just come from.  Each commenter will be assigned a number and then the winners will be chosen using random.org.  Winners will be announced on 12/24/12!


Woohoo! Congratulations, Lisa!!! :D




14 comments:

  1. So much of it is in the timing.
    No commas? Think you can help me ease back on exclamation points. I do like them! (See?)
    Congratulations, Lisa.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hah hah, I love exclamation points too, Alex!!!!! :) Thanks!!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Replies
    1. You're very welcome. I was happy to do it.

      Once my Christmas shopping is over, I'm going to grab my Kindle and read your book. Ever since I read the first few lines, I've been dying to dive in! :D

      Delete
  4. So glad to see this book making the blog rounds. Best to you Lisa!

    ReplyDelete
  5. FCF is one of those rare books you can read over & over & it always feels new & fresh. And it's strange how it can both make your heart soar while also ripping it out. The strangest part is that Lisa had such incredible insight. I mean, she wrote FCF BEFORE any of those stories of returning abductees came to light. And if you compare her fiction to what those kids went through in real life, it's nearly identical. Kinda spooky actually. But it is fiction & Lisa is a talented writer, even with her aversion to commas! ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  6. This looks like one very cool book!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I admit, I love a good fast read.
    Congrats again to Lisa!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great interview, Melissa and congrats on the book, Lisa. I keep my Kindle close by too.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love knowing the story behind the story. Missing children tug at my heart, too.

    Great interview!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds like a fab read, Lisa! "I really felt like she was standing behind me, whispering the words into my ear while I was writing it." Sold me. :-)

    Melissa: I've subscribed to your posts, but they aren't popping up in my inBox for some reason ... going to scour the spam folder. Missed you at the chat last night! Hope it was just work/life keeping you busy. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  11. You know what makes my day? Seeing one of my critique partners on another one of my critique partners blog. :D

    I heart you both!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Sounds like Lisa is a real writing ninja!

    ReplyDelete

I love to hear what you have to say.
Thanks for taking the time to comment. = )